The Oklahoma City Public Schools 2019-20 Senior Student Athletes of the Year

Apr 30, 2020


The Oklahoma City Public Schools announced the 2019-20 Senior Student Athletes of the Year awards on Wednesday.

“We are so proud of these outstanding students,” said OKCPS Athletic Director Todd Dilbeck. “Not only do they show tremendous leadership on the field, court and track, but they also showed up where it matters most – in the classroom. Congratulations to all; you earned this!”

Along with students, OKCPS recognized several coaches.

“I have the privilege of seeing firsthand the impact these coaches have on their students, schools and community,” Dilbeck said. “We appreciate all they do to help prepare our kids for the long game of life.

“Nothing about their job is easy, yet we see them pouring themselves into their kids all day, every day. Coaches, we appreciate you!”

This year’s recipient of the Wes Welker Community Service Award is the Capitol Hill High School football team for providing lawn service for Iglesia Cristiana de Capitol Hill, a church in the Redwolves community.

Here’s the complete 2019-20 OKCPS Senior Student Athletes of the Year list:

Capitol Hill

Male – Julian Gonzalez – Track, Cross Country

Female – Jasmin Cruz – Soccer, Cross Country

Classen SAS

Male – Xzavion Gurley – Football, Baseball, Track

Female – Morgan Kennedy – Basketball


Male – Marlon Morgan – Basketball

Female – Akaari Gallagher – Basketball, Volleyball

John Marshall

Male – Diondre Alexander – Basketball, Track, Cross Country

Female – Chantel Robinson – Basketball, Volleyball, Track

Northwest Classen

Male – Henry Lee – Football, Baseball

Female – Alyx Belk – Softball, Soccer


Male – Pedro Puentes-Orquiz – Tennis

Female – Serra Stoliby – Basketball, Golf, Softball

Star Spencer

Male – Brandon Zeno – Football, Basketball, Track

Female – Travisha Cogdell – Volleyball, Basketball, Soccer, Track

U.S. Grant

Male – Jeremie Allen – Football, Baseball

Female – Karla Gonzalez Isaac – Soccer, Cross Country

2019-20 OKCPS Coaches Awards

Middle School Female Sport Coach of the Year – Madison Moore, Wheeler Middle School

Middle School Male Sport Coach of the Year – DeMaria Walters, F.D. Moon Middle School

High School Female Sport Coach of the Year – Toree Flowers, Northwest Classen High School

High School Male Sport Coach of the Year – Kendal Cudjoe, Classen SAS High School at Northeast

2019-2020 Wes Welker Community Service Award

Capitol Hill High School Football Team

Dave McLaughlin Obituary

David Lee McLaughlin, beloved husband and father, fun grandfather, businessman, enthusiastic community supporter, and loyal friend, passed away on July 24, 2023.

OKCPS Wants More Kids on More Teams With New Summer Program

OKCPS Athletics wants to put more kids on more teams with its new Summer Learning sports program. Backed by Fields & Futures and Heisman-winner Sam Bradford, Summer Learning will give OKCPS student-athletes access to summer sports leagues and scrimmages as well as skill camps and clinics with collegiate instruction.

Fields & Futures